Encouragement for Worship Leaders

aselahsky
4 min readMar 13, 2021

“Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.” Philippians 2:4

I wanted to write a blog specifically to encourage worship leaders out there. I’ve been leading worship for sometime now, starting in my 20’s. It’s been quite a journey, starting from being a background singer, to learning how to play an instrument, then filling in because of a need at church. I got my first PT job at a local church, and now I’m leading two worship services at my home church. It’s been quite a challenging experience, but by the grace of God, His amazing favor, and many hard times of stretching and growing… I’m where I am today. I am of course still a work in progress.

There are times I feel like I was pushed over a cliff when I said yes to God be a worship leader at my church.

I didn’t know that

1. You have to be a respected leader

2. You have to be a talented musician (even in the eyes of the world)

3. You have to be an organized manager

4. You have to be in the mental state of serving and loving your team. (Even showing tough love)

There is no real order to this list — everything is equally important.

--

--

aselahsky

I am a part time Worship Director in a local United Methodist church and I love anything creative and inspirational, I love writing songs.